Cities and Regions in the Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic is divided into 30 regions. The country has two major cities: Santo Domingo de Guzman, which is the nation’s capital and most heavily populated city with 3 millions inhabitants and Santiago de Los Caballeros which is the second largest city located in the northwest part of the country with about 1 million inhabitants. The Dominican Republic has thirty-one provinces,154 municipalities, and 202 municipal districts


Cities and Regions in the Dominican Republic


The most visited Cities and Regions in the Dominican Republic for tourists are:


What are you looking for during your holiday?

The Dominican Republic is extremely diverse. From Cosmopolitan cities, tropical forests to beautiful beaches. When planning a trip, decide what you are looking for, use Explore Dominican Republic for travel information and book that trip.


The top 10 most beautiful beaches in the Dominican Republic

About 50% of all tourists reside in the Punta Cana region, with its spectacular beaches and luxury all-inclusive hotels. After Punta Cana, Santo Domingo, Puerto Plata and La Romana are the most popular holiday destinations.

Are you looking for something less crowded, staying in a bed and breakfast rather than all inclusive, then you should consider going to Samana, Las Terrenas or Cabarete.

Would you like to get inspired by all the beautiful cities and regions in the Dominican Republic then click here.






Show Buttons
Hide Buttons